Let's talk branding
Let's talk branding
My biggest fears as a brand strategist
0:00
-36:44

My biggest fears as a brand strategist

In this solo episode I take a deep, therapeutic dive into the fears we have as strategists. I discuss things like the imposter syndrome, niching, T-shaped profiles, and how to cross the valley of despair.  

Here are the 7 fears:

  1. I'm not good enough

    • In over my head

    • Imposter syndrome

    • Just be a designer

    • Counter: CLients are happy - Creative recognition

  2. I don't really understand

    • There are other strategists out there, the big boys, that really do it

    • Every day new knowledge, frameworks, rebates

    • Totaly different opinions

    • Branding and marketing folk

    • I have an inquisitive nature, so I want to get the full thing

    • Counter: Crossing the Mount stupid - Valley of despair - Slope of enlightened - Dunning kruger effect

  3. I'm in the wrong market

    • I work with small brands

    • The big brands aren't really my cup of tea

    • FMCG space - vs B2B space?

    • Counter: Seeing what works across markets is really interesting, ads breadth

  4. I'm a jack of all trades

    • Can you really be a strategist and designer

    • Can you really understand the full scope of marketing branding?

    • Counter: T-shaped

  5. It doesn't really matter

    • In execution, things happen the way they happen

    • Lot's of research just floating around in space, no trajectory

    • It's the excessive stuff that gets you there

  6. I'm doing this for me

    • I want to sound smart, ego talking

    • Just get down to work

    • Taking the time to take a step back has value

  7. I'm learning from the wrong people

    • Maybe my heroes are wrong?

 

This episode is sponsored by Latana, the AI-powered brand tracking tool.

If you are interested in the brand strategy research course mentioned in the show, go check out the course here and get a free chapter.  Subscribe to the newsletter here to stay updated on new courses and products.

0 Comments
Let's talk branding
Let's talk branding
Discover the secrets of brand-building from world-renowned experts, and academics in marketing, branding & design together with your host Stef Hamerlinck. Let's talk branding is a no bs exploration of all things brand, known to cut through to the clutter and share unique perspectives.